Confronted by the fragility of life

As I write this, I am on a late flight back home to Seattle. I am listening to “Muffled Blue” by one of my favorite artists, Ametsub, while preparing for a client pitch scheduled for 8:00 am in the morning. While all this is going on I have this vision in the back of my mind of my uncle hooked up to a respirator and a slew of IVs and other tubes. And though he is asleep, you can see his body fighting to maintain the breathing rhythm. He looks extremely fragile…

My uncle left home shortly after I was born. I have never met him until today, four decades later. Yes, I had talked to him a few times on the phone, but I had not yet met him face to face. I had always imagined what he looked like based on his childhood pictures and also the fact that he resembled one of my other uncles. I figured he probably looked like he was a twin of that uncle. When I saw him today, under all the medical equipment, I immediately recognized the family resemblance.

I think what struck me most was how fragile he was. This was a person whom I alway imagined was rather tough, stubborn and headstrong. He was also a person who was very generous with what he had and always willing to help family and friends. I also suspect that he was rather lonely… For those who knew him would understand the significance of this last statement.

Today he was transferred to the ICU. The doctors do not know how much time he has left. I am not sure he’ll survive this whole week… All of a sudden, his condition took a turn for the worse.

Last Sunday a old and good friend of the family led him through the sinners prayer and he accepted Jesus as his Lord and savior… If he truly accepted The Lord, then that will be the brightest outcome of all this.

More and more I am reminded that life is fragile and we can go at any time. We should be grateful for the blessings we have. We shouldn’t waste the talents we’ve been given by God. Love people and especially love and take care of your family. Above all love the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, and do his will.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑