Sharing Our Mediocre Lives

Sometimes I try to pause and think a little about my life. And when I do, I sometimes feel like there has to be more to this. On the one hand I find that I get somewhat stuck in the routine of life you know, work, family, social stuff and all that. And some of these things are important in our daily lives. Then there is the other part of me that thinks that there should be more… that maybe I should be doing more… and not just more of the same, but something more meaningful. I wonder if I am the only one that feels that way cause I have noticed that the world seems to want to feel that just about anything they are doing is cool? exciting and worth making others envious about.

Take Facebook for example. I spend a fair amount of time each day on Facebook. I so so primarily to catch up on news. But part is also to catch up on Facebook friends. This is where it starts to get a little silly. On the one hand there are those who hardly ever update their statuses, but then there are those who update two, three, ten times a day. What I am finding more and more ridicules and extremely boring are those whose statuses essentially are saying “please look at me and all these cool things I am doing”. What is interesting is that I know a tin of folks who are doing really cool stuff but don’t talk about it, and others who are doing ordinary or even mediocre stuff but really have a need to share that. Why is that?

Anyway, enough rambling for now.., maybe I will address this topic when I have had time to organize my thoughts a little better.

Leave a Reply

