Just got Hacked!

Yep, it happened. Someone hacked into a couple of my self-hosted WordPress sites I’ve been running for a while now. For me, it was a little irritating to discover that I had been hacked. Yes, I wasn’t really upset, just rather irritated. The reason I wasn’t too mad was because one of the two sites, I was no longer updating the content and so it really came as no big surprise that it happened. As a matter of fact I had migrated all the content and I had been contemplating for a while about calling up the hosting site to shut down the site. This episode actually made me get off my butt and actually start the shutting down of the site… which I just did.

The second site is one that I had updated a little here and there but there really wasn’t much content. Other than the domain name, I really don’t need to have that site running. As a matter of fact, I am also seriously considering shutting down the site and potentially using the domain name for this site instead. In fact as soon as I am done posting this, I will go and start the shut down of that second site.

I will have one more site running. At the moment I have a static web page on the site and I still haven’t decided what I will do with the site. I don’t have WordPress running on the site so I am not too worried about someone hacking into that site… but this whole episode just means I have to be more careful and aware with my any and all public facing sites…

Leave a Reply

