The challenge, three languages in six months

Well its been a while since I have been doing much programming but I have been itching to learn some new programming languages and do a number of interesting projects. Let me start with the projects.

Without going too much into detail, I am actually interested in doing a project that involves creating a web based application which will involve the manipulation and display of data. This data manipulation will be statistically based and the output will be displayed using a number of interesting visualization styles. There will also be a supporting mobile app. The project itself will probably take about a 8 to 10 months to get to a decent stage, though I plan on using it as an ongoing platform for learning.

What will this be built in/on? I envision using the following languages; Python, R, Objective-C, SQL, HTML5, CSS3, /Node.js, JQuery. In light of this, my challenge for the next six months is to get a decent working knowledge of Python, R and Objective-C plus get up to speed with HTML5, CSS3 and Node.js. Can it be done? I guess so… I will be posting weekly updates as I teach myself these languages and any interesting learning.

One thought on “The challenge, three languages in six months

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑