My Ubuntu 12.04 Beta 2 Update

I rarely download and install beta OS systems, and on the rare occasions that I do, I will install the beta on a virtual machine. This way, if anything goes wrong, the software expires or I simply need to get rid of the software then I can do so at a whim and not have to think about doing any clean installs on my laptop/desktop.

Right now I am about to ignore this philosophy and install Ubuntu 12.04 Beta 2 on my laptop. This will be a clean install meaning I will completely wipe out the previous version i.e. 10.11. And why don’t I simply wait until the official Ubuntu 12.04 release date which is April 26? To put it simply, when I upgraded from 10.04 to 10.11, my network drivers got completely corrupted. My wireless adapter simply stopped working and would not connect to any wireless network. My Ethernet adapter would only connect if I manually entered in the IP settings, but would not access the internet. In essence, the laptop become somewhat less than optimum since I simply could not connect to the internet to run any updates or install new software. And please don’t suggest that I should have downloaded additional software and drivers into a USB drive and installed that way, this would defeat the purpose of having a netbook.

Anyway, my goal here is to see doing a clean install of 12.04 will resolve my issues… otherwise I will be forced to spend a fair amount of time and an additional USB stick to get the networking going… or maybe install Windows 8 consumer preview.

Leave a Reply

