Makeda Coffee in GreenWood



Makeda Coffee Cup, originally uploaded by andai.

I discovered Makeda Coffee, a great little coffee shop, back this past summer during one of the Greenwood art walks. An artist friend of mine was exhibiting his work at the Espresso Diva coffee shop as part of the art walk and I was hanging out with him. A little later I took off to check out some of the other art on show at the various participating Greenwood businesses. This is when I noticed a small sandwich board sign on the pavement adverting 7 Roasters Coffee, coffee shop. The sign pointed out the direction of the coffee shop which was just of the main street i.e. Greenwood Avenue. If it wasn’t for this sign, I would not have noticed the coffee shop.

I popped into the coffee shop which I noted was not called 7 Roasters Coffee, but was actually called Makeda Coffee. As I ordered my latte, I asked the barista about this discrepancy. According to her, the coffee shop used to be owned by the guy who owns 7 Roasters Coffee which is a small Seattle based coffee roasting company. Apparently the chap wanted to get out of the coffee shop business and focus on roasting coffee beans so he sold the coffee shop to Prashanthi Reddy & Charlie Anthe. Not surprisingly the new owners decided that they would continue to get their coffee beans from 7 Roasters, hence the sign out on the main street.

I though it was interesting that one of the owners is this lady named Prashanthi, interesting in that I haven’t met anyone in the Seattle coffee scene who comes from an Indian (as in Asian Indian) background. I don’t know… I just thought that was interesting. But I did ask the barista about this and apparently Prashanthi has been into coffee culture for a while…

And I must say that they must be doing something right. Since Greenwood is out of the way for me, I am not in that area often, but I have to say that the two or three times I’ve been to the shop, I have really enjoyed my latte. Their espresso blend is called Espresso Huli. It was a nice strong latte with great flavor. In some ways it sort of reminded me of another excellent local roaster, Lighthouse Coffee down in the Fremont/Ballard area. And part of they having great coffee I think, is due to the fact that they are supporting the small local roaster so what you get is not the usual suspects in terms of Seattle coffee roasters.

Each time I have been there, the baristas are great, pretty friendly and always willing to chat about coffee and Makeda Coffee. By the way, just a little trivia, Makeda is the name of the famous Queen of Sheba and at the same time it is also a Hebrew word meaning bowl, cup or vessel.

I think the name works…

Leave a Reply

