Pike Place Market’s Café Campagne



Cafe Campagne, originally uploaded by andai.

I am not quite sure what to say about Café Campagne other than they are a great French restaurant that is located in Post Alley at the Pike Place Market. They do serve great French food I will be the first to admit.

What they don’t serve however is great espresso drinks, or maybe more specifically, they did not make me a nice latte when I ordered one this morning. They do serve Caffé Vita coffee and if I was to take a wild guess, I would probably say that they use the Caffé Del Sol blend. Unfortunately, I was really not impressed with my drink and I ended up wishing that I had simply ordered a glass of orange juice instead. I thought long and hard about going to Seattle Coffee Works and getting a latte to go, but I didn’t think the good people at Café Campagne would be impressed if I walked in with a latte from elsewhere.

The other thing that I thought was a little odd was that the espresso drinks came in what looked like was either an 8 oz or almost a 16 oz cup and nothing intermediate. This made is it really hard for me to choose what size I should order. The small size was clearly too small and I would be wanting more, yet the large size looked a little too much and I didn’t want to have to drink it all, nor did I want to waste any. I ended up choosing the larger size.

I know enough about coffee orders to know that you really can’t judge a place by the first experience… you have to give the place at least a two or three more tries before you can declare their drinks mediocre. The problem is that there are many great places in and around Pike Place Market that serve good espresso that it will be a while before I go back to try the place again. And like I said, there was nothing much else to write about this place other than the fact that next time I might not even bother to try the coffee and instead I might just stick to large glass of orange juice and leave it at that…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑