Back to Kitanda for Brazilian Espresso



D’arte at Kitanda, originally uploaded by andai.

Last December, I wrote a post about my first visit to Kitanda, the Brazilian Cafe and bakery down in the Bellevue/Redmond area. I had initially noticed them when I was driving back to work after lunch and since I am always on the lookout for new places to try. I was pretty excited to try out their Brazilian espresso as was advertised on their huge sign. This was certainly welcome too since the main choices for espresso you have in that area are Starbucks and Jitters Coffee. It was shortly after that that my work required me to commute to Kent so I was absent from the Redmond area for a while.

Fast forward to a few months later, I was back in the area, working on a new project. On this particular day I just had this craving for a baked good from the Brazilian bakery which of course meant that I was going to have to order another espresso drink. Besides the baked goodies, I really wanted to see if they had improved, not in customer service for which they are great at, but in the making of their espresso drinks.

So I stepped up rather gingerly to the cashier and placed my order for a double tall latte. I mean they are using Caffè D’arte which is one of my more favorite coffee bean roast so how bad can they really be?

Well to my surprise and slight disappointment, the double tall latte they served me tasted more like a single Grande. My latte was really weak and milky! And I asked them if this was a double shot or whether they have actually served me a single shot? The assured me that what I was holding in my hand (they didn’t use this exact phrase) was indeed a double shot latte. I was really surprised and at first I was going to ask them to add another shot of espresso, but then I decided it wasn’t worth it.

Although the coffee wasn’t great, the guys at the café were really pleasant to talk to. We chatted a bit about the language they spoke, i.e. Portuguese and also about traditional Brazilian pastries and baked treats. They told me about their other retail location in Kirkland and also a bit about the blend of coffee they serve. They also did not have any problem with me taking pictures in the place. I think they probably thought I was a little weird.

I think I have to give the place one more try. I need to go order a double short (8 oz) latte and see if that will make any difference to the quality of coffee that I get. If they serve me a nice strong double short latte, I will be pleased. If however the coffee if mediocre, then that would probably be the last time I go there. Life is too short to keeping going to the same place if they are not going to serve you good coffee

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑