Insomniax Coffee on 15th

insomniax1

Insomniax Coffee & Juice is yet another of those coffee shops that I pass by on a regular basis, but I rarely, if ever go there. The main reasons for this are twofold. The first is that I usually don’t hang out in the area as such, and because of this, easy parking tends to be important to me because when I do tend to stop at such places, I am in usually on my way somewhere else. Thus, the second reason is the need for easy parking which then allows me to quickly pop in and out… this is actually a bigger issue than the first.

In the case of Insomniax Coffee, I actually live a few blocks away from the place, so I can walk if I really wanted to… so there is actually a third reason why I don’t go to the place… and that is the coffee. I am not a big fan of their lattes. This is a shame because the do serve fair trade certified coffee supplied to them by a roaster called Café Mam. The actual blend that they use for espresso is Café Mam’s Royal Espresso blend. I have now been there twice and I have come to conclude that I don’t like their coffee much. Now don’t get me wrong, the lattes were not a bad per se, it was more of the darker roast and flavor that I didn’t like so this is more of a personal opinion on taste as opposed to a critique on bad, bad coffee.

At the same time, I know off folks who do like their coffee and for this reason I would suggest that if you are in the area of Group Health hospital up on 15th on Capital Hill, try out the coffee and let me know what you think.

And for those of you who are curious about Café Mam, they buy and roast coffee from the fair-trade cooperatives of the native Mayan farmers who live up in the highlands of Chiapas, Mexico. The coffee, which is gown in high altitude, is 100% organic, fair trade certified and shade-grown. The farmers are mainly Mam, Tzetzal and Mochó. You can read more about Café Mam and the farmers who grow the coffee here.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑