What a Bizarre World!

I haven’t written much in a while and this is because I have been busy with other things. First, I have been really busy with work. I am coming to the end of my current project and I still have a fair amount of work to do. It’s been an interesting project due to the fact that some of the work I have been doing and the approach (or methodology) is relatively new to me so that has been a great learning experience in itself. Besides work, we have also been pretty busy getting ready for the birth of our first child. It’s amazing how expecting a child really changes your perspective in many ways… yet, just getting ready for the child has been something else. Finally, I have also been maintaining a couple of other blogs. One of the blogs is my coffee blog, Grounds for Burnt Offerings while the other is a private family blog so I will not really talk about it here.

In the meantime, it seems to me that a lot has been going on the world over and kind of makes you sit back and wonder what this world is coming too. Not least withstanding, let’s start with Hurricane Ike down in the Gulf and in Texas. This hurricane was about the size of Texas. For those of you from Kenya, think about is this way… Kenya is about the same size of Texas. So now try to imagine a scenario where a hurricane is the size of Kenya. That I think is astounding!

Then the other big story is the financial meltdown in the US economy… and how that is also putting a drag on the world markets. I think what you now seeing is the other side of globalization, how world markets are not immune turmoil in the US markets. Quite frankly, I think it is simply amazing how the last few months have witnessed the collapse of a number of banks and other financial/investment institutions. Now with rumors beginning to circulate around WaMu, it’s really hard to know where things are headed.

Then talking about conflicts and potential conflicts abroad, where do you even start? When I was younger, I used to have a very utopian view of the world… but that was a long time ago. Honestly, I think the world in general is getting to be a more uncertain and dangerous and really makes me think about End time prophesy and the warnings of The Lord Jesus Christ about the last days and the signs of his coming… wow!

Yet my philosophy is that you must continue to live and teach those within your own sphere of influence the norms of a normal, civilized society and in that way make some small difference for the better.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑