My Quest for Ethical Eating

Over that last few weeks, I have been thinking more and more about the meat I eat and the kind of treatment the animal, from which the meat was produced from, was given prior to being slaughtered…

In general I have tended to be concerned about the farming practices where animals that are being raised for meat are fed various hormones, antibiotics and bovine food products. The fact that these herbivorous animals are fed bovine and other meat products is the one that really grosses me out!

But now the issue that is starting to grab my attention more and more is that of the ethical treatment of these animals. Without going too much into details about what goes on in some of the farms, suffice it to say that many of the commercial farms ‘raise’ these animals in extremely deplorable conditions and I feel that buying meat products from certain stores is to endorse that kind of treatment.

I am not saying that I am now going to become a vegetarian, rather, what I am saying is that I will increase my support and patronage to stores that buy product from farms that do practice ethical, humane and healthy farming methods… And related to this there are certain food establishments, especially many of the fast food places that I will continue to avoid altogether.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑