So What Happens When We Die?

As time goes by and as I get older, I tend to reflect more and more about my final destiny that is, when I die, what that means and what happens after.

The question of the afterlife is one that I think most reasonable people ponder. Some will conclude that there is no afterlife and that when you die that’s it. But the problem with taking that view, in my opinion, is that one simply cannot prove that there is no afterlife. Even those who believe that and call themselves intelligent and believe in the scientific methods, must agree that you cannot prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is no afterlife… and therefore one can never say with 100% certainty that there is no afterlife…There is one thing every rational person will agree and that is, we will all die. We never really know when our time will come but we are aware we will eventually keep our appointment with the grim reaper even though that doesn’t stop us from trying to postpone our appointment.

Over the last 20 years, my mother, both sets of my grandparents, my aunt, a couple of cousins have all passed away and this year brings in two additional deaths, those of my cousin and my uncle. So here I sit wondering where are they now? Are they somewhere out there somewhere hanging out? Are they in heaven? Are they conscious of the fact they they are dead (at least from the physical world point of view)?

As a Christian, I believe in what the bible says…. and the bible has plenty to say about death and the final judgment that will come. So what happens when we die? In the New Testament book of Luke Chapter 16 verses 19 to 31, Jesus tells the story of the rich man and Lazarus. It is believed that this is not a parable but an actual true story. Then they die, the rich man is sent to hades while Lazarus is sent to Abraham’s Bosom. Hades and Abraham’s Bosom are separated by a chasm that none on one side can cross to the other. In general, those of the faith, when they died were sent to Abraham’s Bosom awaiting the time when Jesus would lead them to heaven. This was done when Jesus died on the cross, he went into Abraham’s bosom to lead those of faith to heaven. Remember when on the cross one of the criminals that was being crucified with Jesus asks for forgiveness and Jesus tells him that he would be in paradise with Jesus that very day (Luke chapter 23 verse 42 – 43)? What about those who are not of the faith when they die? They go to Hades and there they are tormented … while waiting for the final judgment.

Now remember I said that when Jesus died on the cross and went to Abraham’s Bosom to lead the faithful into heaven? What about the faithful who died after that? It is believed that from that time onwards that is when Jesus dies and resurrected, when the faithful die they now go straight to heaven. But the unfaithful still go to hades to await judgment.

This is one of the reasons why when my mom died, I was grateful that she had become a believer and therefore I know she is in heaven today… In addition to this, my dad is also a believer and therefore when he dies, I am also confident that he is heaven bound…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑