300 Spartans vs. 300 Samurai

on
300

300, the movie based in Frank Miller’s graphic novel based on the true story of King Leonidas and his army of 300 Spartans who fought and held King Xerxes I of Persia for three days at the Battle of Thermopylae opens this week.

I have been waiting this this movie for a while now since I checked out the trailer on Apple.com’s movie trailer site and there are a couple of reasons that draw me to it. First, I really enjoy reading stories on ancient Roman and Greek history. In addition to this, I want to watch the movie is because of the cinematic style with the muted colors and the sometime slow motion sequences during certain action shots…

Now, I am even more interested in Japanese history especially during and after the feudal period when the martial arts system developed. I am especially intrigued by the Samurai and the techniques and training they developed for warfare….

Well this got me thinking, if the 300 Spartans were to face 300 Samurai in battle, who would win? This is probably debatable, but to tell you the truth, my money is on the Samurai. I think the Samurai would soundly kick Spartan butt a few times around the block… Why? Even though both groups were battle hardened, it is interesting to note that from what I have read (and I will look for the source), battle hardened Japanese soldiers, though pretty good at warfare, were no match for the samurai who are very skilled at various advanced fighting techniques, both armed and unarmed… I think the Samurai would win! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

