Diving at Menjangan Island

on

Today we went diving at Menjangan Island today. The boat ride took about 50 minutes to get there and was not bad considering that the waters were relatively calm and as an added precaution, I had taken seasickness pill this morning so I had no problems at all. A quick word about my dive buddies who are George and Rebecca, the couple from Germany we met last night. George is an avid diver, photographer and generally a really nice guy (Rebecca is also really cool too) and I think they will be a great couple to get to know during our stay here in Pemuteran.

We did two dives the first was a drift dive along a reef wall and the second was a simple slope dive. The one thing that I didn’t like was that I had huge problems with my mask which simply kept leaking so I had really great mask clearing exercises. But all in all, despite so-so visibility (especially for the first dive) was not super, the dives were great. I was able to see a White-tip Reef Shark and a Moray Eel among other sea life. Oh and I must say, the lunch we had on the boat was simple yet one of the lunches I have ever had, and not just in Bali but anywhere around the world. I guess the dive instructor’s aunt or some close relative prepares the lunches for the dive crew and the dive clients.

Later that evening we went out with G&R to look for a local hole-in-a-wall warung for some simple and cheap Balinese food. I had a fried chicken and rice dish while the other had noodle dishes. My food was pretty decent considering we paid a total of about 32,000 Rp for the four of us including sodas. That’s about $4.00!

Leave a Reply

