Switching from Windows to Whatever

I was reading this article via Slashdot about over 1 million Windows users converting to Mac so far this year. There are a number of reasons they speculate may be the reason. However, there is one thing about Windows that really bothers me, and that is all the insecurity associated with Windows. On my laptop, I have no less than 6 applications checking for spyware, trojans, viruses, keyloggers and other forms of malware. Now, some of these applications are interfearing with the running of my computer and slowing it down, but when you’re online, you really have no choice. In light of this, I would gladly switch to an alternative… except there really is no alternative for me right now.

You may have been following my adventures with Ubuntu, but it will be a while before I can even think of switching completely to Linux. One thing I hope for sure is that Windows Vista (by the way, who on earth came up with that name??) will be much better security wise. I am tired of running all this extra stuff on my computer just so I can surf the web and check email….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑